.

New vaping store in Melrose?

Has anyone noticed that a store selling vaping supplies called Cumulus Vapors is going in on West Wyoming?
Dave Gray February 23, 2014 at 03:02 PM
Agreed. Please don't think that I support having this store there. I don't, actually, and for a lot of reasons. What I don't get is the apparent inconsistency being displayed, and the lack of public input into this. The democratic process made dispensaries and medical marijuana legal. That doesn't mean I want a dispensary next to my house. This is a zoning issue, and I don't get why the city fought so hard to prohibit dispensaries, and then allowed this shop to open, when it seems crystal clear what the product is primarily used for.
Josh February 23, 2014 at 04:33 PM
Agreed! :-) Ridiculous inconsistency.
rig928 February 24, 2014 at 11:08 AM
I hope Alderman and the Mayor read these comments. What is the legal distance to protest peacefully, respectfully?
Gretylu February 24, 2014 at 12:54 PM
Are you kidding me !!! Like its bad enough all the indian owned convenient stores sell weed paraphernalia to the teens in town and yes i know this as a fact and they will buy stuff (coins, x boxes, video games,colognes) off the kids in exchange for cash so they can then buy a "bowl" or blunts!! Yes this happens all along west wyoming st!! This is gonna make it even harder for us parents who are trying to teach our kids that cigarettes,hookahs,weed are all not ok!! And that any substances that makes you want to feel relaxed or whatever reasons is not a healthy or educated judgement since all those items harm our bodies one way or another! Im sorry I am so so so against this store! And feel its not fair to the parents in Town !! And yes people Melrose has a huge Teen drug issue so lets not make it easier for them!!
Julie the Jarhead February 24, 2014 at 02:43 PM
Would you feel better if it were lily white folks selling this paraphernalia to your precious darlings? Don't blame the store. No one puts a gun to their heads and makes them buy the stuff.
Sherlock H. February 24, 2014 at 05:48 PM
Exactly Julie! Thank you. And 'rig928', the distance you are right now is just perfect.
Lorraine February 24, 2014 at 05:49 PM
Precious darlings? Why so inflammatory? Why can't people have their own opinions without being so mean to each other? I'm assuming we are all adults here.
Gretylu February 24, 2014 at 07:21 PM
Yeah maybe julie i would !! Seeing they have a total disrespect of the law and buy stolen items from underage kids!! And they use there reasonings because there culture condones these behaviors and thats what they have said!!! And the kids have there own issues but thats the responsibility of an adult to differ that behavior not encourage it!!! Most of the parents are trying to deal with their kids behavior but i guess when they are going into the stores parents rely on the Adults to not sell the kids these items bottom line , kids are gonna try and get away with things but we are suppose to as a community say hey wait no i cant sell these things to you cause your not of age and know its against the law to buy items from minors and give them cash!! It takes a village to raise a child - not a village to sell paraphernalia of weed to our minors!! I truthfully dont care who you are its wrong !! And dont think for one second im picking on a certain race my own kids are of mixed race and im only speaking from what i have dealt with and witnessed !! I will throw anyone under the bus if they are not doing right by this community!!
Sherlock H. February 25, 2014 at 05:15 PM
Ummmmm........ok..........I think ??????
Neah Green February 25, 2014 at 06:24 PM
So folks, F.Y.I. the DRUG PROBLEM in Melrose has been going on since the 190's and has never died. And probsably before then. As well as the HUGE alcoholism problem this city has always had. That said, what offends me is the the lack of public input. A vaping store should have been discussed in an open public forum not winked through in the name of increased rent revenues. The citizenry of the city have the democratic right to discuss these zoning issues ifrst without being railroaded by the business/ government for profit at all costs sector.
Neah Green February 25, 2014 at 06:25 PM
Please excuse the typos 1960's and probably
Neah Green February 25, 2014 at 06:28 PM
P.S. in ref to the Mom who lives in West Wyomings comments -Why aren't the Police catching the folks who are allowing the kids to sell their personal items for drugs to store owners. This is wrong. And why is Melrose allowing West Wyoming to become the city's wrong side of the tracks? Whats up with that? You can do better Melrose. Step up.
Gretylu February 25, 2014 at 10:57 PM
Neah Green - I have reported this to the police on several occasions and they said they would look into it!! ???? But I had to personally go get back my Xbox from Bobs market that was stolen from my house even though i called the police and told them I had found out that it was sold to them and all they said was call them if I need them to come down but they were busy with a bomb threat at the high school. So yeah idk!! But I refuse to buy anything from those stores besides the fact they jack the prices of everything so ridiculously high!!
Pamela February 27, 2014 at 11:43 AM
Hi i totally support the vaping community. I think alot of you on here are getting the misconception of the electronic cigarettes. There are many different types and their are certain ones for certain uses There are herbal vaporizers and also just ones you put nicotine flavored e juice. Alot of vapor shops in the surrounding areas do not sell to people under the age of 18 and people under the age of 18 arent even allowed in the stores... Do you guys like walking down the street to seeing cigarette butts all over the community? There is no smell to them. I think its great to get current smokers to switch to these alot healthier!
brbos1 February 27, 2014 at 02:50 PM
If I as an adult want to purchase a legal product at a store I have the right to do so. The guy who used the example of driving to Kappy's but saying it's "not in my town" is exactly the attitude of some people here. You act as though living in Melrose excludes you from real world problems/crime/drugs. Sorry to break it to you, but its everywhere no matter where you live.
Sherlock H. February 27, 2014 at 06:12 PM
Ahhhhhh, some reasonable voices. Restores my faith.
Michael M March 03, 2014 at 02:17 PM
"Not in my town" is a perfectly reasonable position to take. As a parent it is my responsibility to ensure that my child is protected from the continuous degradation of society that this kind of business represents. I, and other responsible parents in Melrose, won't be shouted down by the likes of you. Living in Melrose doesn't "exclude us from real world problems/crime/drugs." Taking a stand against these kinds of establishments does.
Pamela March 03, 2014 at 03:16 PM
Electronic cigarettes are not sold to minors under the age of 18. There's signs on the store stating that no one under the age of 18 even allowed in store They are not used for marajuana. They're used to help people quit smoking.
Jon Scarborough March 03, 2014 at 03:40 PM
hey Pamela, how dare you talk common sense, these people want to burn the witch !!!
Pamela March 03, 2014 at 03:50 PM
I'm not on here to argue....
Michael M March 03, 2014 at 06:29 PM
Pamela, we are all aware of the official use. I don't believe any of us are blind to what the unofficial use is. So let's not be glib here.
Pamela March 03, 2014 at 06:48 PM
I have better things to do then sit on here. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. But should get information correct before forming an opinion.
Michael M March 04, 2014 at 10:54 AM
Pamela, I did get the information. That's why it took me more than a week to post to this thread. Here are the facts for you since you are not willing to do it yourself. But seem to prefer to accuse others of your own laziness instead. Note that I do not post this information to suggest that any action should be taken based upon this information. I do not endorse violence nor any illegal activity and provide this publicly available information to assist others here who may not have the knowledge to find this information for themselves. There is no direct connection between the following facts but they are extremely unlikely to not all be related. 1. Find this new businesses website online. It's 'www.cumulusvapors.com' 2. Do a 'whois' search to find out who owns the domain. In this case the domain was registered in Feb of 2014 but appears to be registered to the website designer. The link is: http://www.networksolutions.com/whois/results.jsp?domain=cumulusvapors.com 3. Visit that website designer's web page. See that the design of the website designer's page is virtual identical to the cumulus vapors website. This person obviously just used their own website design as the template for the new website design. This person undeniably produced the cumulus vapors webstite as well. 4. The designer comes from Florida. Do a web search for businesses in Florida and find 'cumulus vapors LLC. Identify the persons listed as involved with that business. I won't list any names here. Find many pages linking these people to the cause of medical marijuana. If you think this store is about helping people quit smoking then you are being naive. This is about legalizing marijuana in Massachusetts. Period.
Pamela March 04, 2014 at 01:45 PM
Michael, I did not want to feed into this bull. But you do have your facts wrong. The person who designed the cumulus vapors website in Melrose ma. Is a graphic designer out of Florida. Cumulus vapors in Melrose is a corporation and has nothing to do with the company out of Florida. Grand opening march 8th. Why don't you come see it for yourself and get the correct facts. You are assuming things here! Totally wrong!
Pamela March 04, 2014 at 01:52 PM
There will not be one thing in that store for the use of marajuana. Do you realize this is not the only vaping store in ma?
brbos1 March 04, 2014 at 02:08 PM
Michael you know how you protect your children from the continuous degradation of society? In my opinion that is showing them to respect others and themselves, teaching right from wrong, politeness and manners, how to behave in public, responsibility at home and for work, be aware of what's going on around you and not be gullible. At least that's what we teach our daughter. Sorry but typical small town mentality is and always will be "not in my town"...Don't want these things in my town, don't want these type of people in my town. A vaping store (correct term?) for me is not the end of the world or the cause of the degradation of society...people are.
Pamela March 04, 2014 at 02:29 PM
Wonderful statement! There are worse things in society then a vaping store which is the use of electronic cigarettes with liquid nicotine. With no tobacco. Instead of people making comments even before store is open they should wait to see it open before assuming such garbage!
Michael M March 04, 2014 at 09:04 PM
Pamela, it appears that perhaps you have access to information that the rest of us do not (a relative of Mr Cook perhaps?) I hope that what you say is true and that the store is limited to exactly tobacco alternatives. Also, let me apologize for my previous language. Regardless of our positions, name calling is not a path to civil discourse. brbos1: Please don't put words in my mouth. I agree with virtual everything you have written in your previous post regarding proper upbringing of children. But I've travelled to many places and talked to many people and have seen many things in many cultures. Small town mentality, I am not. There are many things I am completely against which might be now, or at some time, legal establishments in Melrose. (Think adult stores, gambling, marijuana dispensaries etc). I would speak out against each and every one of them each and every time they because it is the right thing to do. It's not "not in my town." It's "change begins at home." I've had the chance to speak with Melrose police officers casually over the years who themselves have suggested that crime in Melrose has increased four fold over the last decade and they attributed it to an increase in drugs. I've seen ambulances carying away my neighbor's children because they overdosed. And I've talked to their neighbor's who recounted how beautiful those same children were growing up before they got involved with the wrong influences. Just like my child is now. So, no, NOT in my town. And, no, NOT to my child. And, no NOT to my neighbor's children if I can help it. But not for the simplistic mindset which you accuse me of.
David March 20, 2014 at 11:12 AM
May I just say that vaping has absolutely nothing to do with marijuana. How terrible of you to make assumptions and go on negatively about this new store when you don't even have a clue as to what it actually is. It's sole purpose is to allow people to slowly cut down on their daily nicotine usage by downsizing the amount if nicotine in the bottle of "e-juice" they buy. Rather than using a patch or "blu" cigarette, smokers can control their own nicotine intake. There is NO tobacco in vape products, only nicotine - if you choose! They even have an option with no nicotine! This is just an alternative to cigarettes. Nothing illegal or negatively impacting children more than you're everyday conscience store that sells cigarettes and many other worse products.
Sherlock H. March 20, 2014 at 12:42 PM
Thank you David! Hopefully the "Chicken Littles" will take note.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something